Hockey Hall of Fame - Class of 2013

idc allan 2003Ile des Chenes North Stars - 2003 Allan Cup champions

The Allan Cup champion Ile des Chenes North Stars and the St. Malo Warriors who went undefeated in capturing the 1972-1973 Hanover-Tache Hockey League title will be inducted into the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame.

The North Stars began their run to the 2003 Canadian senior hockey championship by winning a three-team tournament in Manitoba that included La Broquerie Habs and the Warroad Islanders. The North Stars then travelled to Lloydminster and swept the hometown Border Kings three straight to earn the right to represent Manitoba and Saskatchewan at the Allan Cup playdown in Dundas. The four-team competition included the host Real McCoys, Stony Plain Eagles representing Alberta and B.C. and Lancaster ThunderCats for the East. In round-robin play North Stars beat Lancaster 6-3 and Stony Plain 6-2, but lost 5-3 to Dundas. The 2-1 record put North Stars into the national final while Stony Plain earned a spot by shutting out Lancaster 3-0 in a sudden-death semi-final. The Manitoba team won the Canadian title with a 3-2 victory in double overtime.

In 1972-73 the Warriors went through the regular season undefeated winning 18 straight games. They then capped off a perfect season by winning eight more in the playoffs and the team's first Hanover-Tache title.

The 1951 Winnipeg Monarchs will be honoured for winning the Abbott Cup emblematic of the Western Canada junior championship.

Six players, seven builders and one official will also be inducted.

Mike Ford, who was a member of two World Hockey Association Avco Cup winning Winnipeg Jets teams, and Western Manitoba's Bill Mikkelson, who played in the NHL for three teams, are the defensemen being honoured. Both had played junior with the Brandon Wheat Kings and Winnipeg Jets. Four forwards were selected for induction. Gerry James, who got his start at Sir John Franklin Community Club in Winnipeg's River Heights area, won a Memorial Cup with the Toronto Marlboros and played for the Toronto Maple Leafs during the same period he was a star running back for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. Vaughn Karpan from The Pas played junior in Brandon, at the University of Manitoba and then spent several seasons with Canada's National Team that included playing in the 1984 and 1988 Winter Olympic Games. In 1985 while with University of Minnesota-Duluth, Bill Watson from Pine Falls won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the top collegiate player in the USA. He later played in the NHL with the Chicago Blackhawks. The fourth forward, Ed Hoekstra, will be inducted posthumously. Born in Winnipeg, he was a top scorer for the Weston midgets before moving East to play in St. Catherines. His professional career ran from 1958-59 through 1973-74 and included time in the NHL with the Philadelphia Flyers and in the WHA with the Houston Aeros. He died in St, Catherines on Nov. 10, 2011 at age 74.

Two builders, Wayne Chernecki and Wayne Fleming, also will be inducted posthumously at the induction dinner on Oct. 5. Chernecki, 63, died in Winnipeg on Feb. 11 and Fleming, 62, in Calgary on March 25. The Hall of Fame independent selection committee had made its choices for 2013 in January so Hall of Fame vice-president Don Kuryk, who chairs the committee, was able to participate in private ceremonies honouring them before their deaths. A product of Winnipeg's North End, Chernecki was an outstanding player and leader from playground through junior hockey in Winnipeg. After a brief pro career, he turned to coaching where he had success at the bantam, midget and junior levels. Born in Snow Lake, Fleming's coaching resume included stints at the U of M, Europe, the NHL and as an associate coach with Canada's gold medal winning team at the 2002 Olympics.

Former Manitoba Amateur Hockey Association and Winnipeg Minor Hockey president Don MacKenzie; Tom Miller, president of the St. James Canucks of the Manitoba Major Junior Hockey League for 35 years; Bruce Southern from Winnipeg's Riverview area, who coached junior in the three Prairie provinces and scouted for four NHL teams; and Al Tresoor, whose 29 years behind the bench began in Elmwood and included provincial championships at the juvenile and junior level, also will be recognized as builders. Official Ian Heather, who has been a leader in the development of officials for Hockey Manitoba and Hockey Canada, also will enter the Hall in the builder category. Bob Thompson from Oak Lake, who began his officiating career of more than 25 years in Brandon in 1970 and attained a Level 6 credential that allowed him to work as high as international hockey, will be inducted as an official.

The class of 2013 will be inducted on October 5th in Winnipeg.

Share This:

  • 2014 10 pistons virden8

    Pistons Have Winning Streak Snapped

    Saturday November 01, 2014

    The Steinbach Pistons' four-game winning streak came to an end Friday evening as they were defeated 2-1 by the OCN Blizzard. Julien Koga

  • 2013 10 srss sisler1

    Sabres Have Busy Two Weeks

    Friday October 31, 2014

    The Steinbach Regional Secondary School Sabres hockey team has had a full schedule over the past two weeks. The Sabres played two regular

  • bombers srss oct30 001

    Game 18 – Bombers vs Stampeders

    Saturday November 01, 2014

    The Winnipeg Blue Bombers will play their final game of the 2014 CFL season Saturday afternoon at McMahon Stadium in Calgary. The Stamped

  • srss oct31 top

    First Half Domination - Sabres Advance to Vidruk Final

    Friday October 31, 2014

    For the second time in three years the Steinbach Regional Secondary School will play for a Winnipeg High School Football League division t

  • 2014 10 pistons terriers22

    Pistons Knock Off MJHL Leaders In Shootout

    Thursday October 30, 2014

      Nick Deery made 36 of 37 saves to backstop the Steinbach Pistons to a 2-1 shootout victory over the MJHL leading Portage Terriers We

  • 2014 10 curling1

    Steinbach Curling Numbers Highest In Several Years

    Tuesday October 28, 2014

    It's an exciting year for curling in Steinbach. The men's, women's and mixed leagues have all seen increases in registration numbers this

  • 2014 10 prov1

    Pilots Repeat As MCAC Champs

    Monday October 27, 2014

    For the second year in a row, the Providence Pilots women's soccer team is the Manitoba Colleges Athletics Conference champions. The Pilo

  • 2014 10 peewee raiders19

    Peewee Raiders Magical Season Ends

    Sunday October 26, 2014

    After an undefeated regular season and big wins in their first two playoff games, the Peewee Eastman Raiders were eliminated from playof

  • bombers lions oct25 top

    Another November Without Playoff Football

    Sunday October 26, 2014

    For the fifth time in six seasons the Winnipeg Blue Bombers will not be participating in the CFL playoffs. Needing a win to keep their sl

  • 2014 10 canadiens1

    Habs Alumni Dazzle Spectators

    Friday October 24, 2014

    Thursday night was quite a night at the TG Smith Centre in Steinbach. Eleven Montreal Canadiens alumni took part in a fundraising game ag

  • 2014 10 futsol1

    Steinbach Futsal League Grows In Second Year

    Thursday October 23, 2014

    The Steinbach Futsal League has met it's goals for growth in it's second season. The league began with six teams last year before growing

  • 2014 10 la verendrye

    Great End To Golf Season

    Wednesday October 22, 2014

    La Verendrye Golf Course in La Broquerie is benefiting from a few great days of weather at the end of the golf season. Superintendent Dar

  • 17-Justin Baudry

    Baudry Adjusting To Playing In USHL

    Tuesday October 21, 2014

    La Broquerie's Justin Baudry is settling in to playing hockey in the United States. The former Pistons defenceman is playing for the Farg

Search Sports News Archives