Nicholas Mikan, Warren Clark, Landon Roberts and Travis Hensrud scored during a 10-minute span of the first period as the Steinbach Pistons defeated the Steelers 5-2 in Selkirk, Leo Chambers added his 10th of the season late in the third period as the Pistons extended their winning streak to eight games. 

The top three teams in the Manitoba Junior Hockey League's East Division are in the Canadian Junior Hockey League's Top 20 Rankings. The Steinbach Pistons moved up one spot from six to five. The Portage Terriers dropped from nine to 10. The Winkler Flyers, who were previously unranked, are number 16. The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League's Battlefords North Stars are the number one nationally ranked team for the seventh week in a row. 

Brady Gregoire and Ashton Dubois each had a goal and an assist as the St. Malo Warriors downed the North Winnipeg Satelites 5-1 at the Billy Mosienko Arena. Damon Johnson, Samuel Frechette and Jack Toews also scored for the Warriors who lead 2-1 and 4-1 at the period breaks. 

The Brandon Wheat Kings lost 5-4 to the Blades in Saskatoon. Winnipeg's Connor Roulette potted the winner 2:33 into overtime for the Blades. Calder Anderson, Rylen Roersma, Brett Hyland and Jake Chiasson replied for the Wheat Kings. Chiasson's goal with 10.1 seconds left in the third period tied the game at 4-4. Saskatoon forward and La Salle native Tyler Parr scored his fourth of the season eight minutes into the second period. 

Mark Scheifele and Kyle Connor scored two goals each and Connor Hellebuyck made 39 saves as Winnipeg downed the Florida Panthers 5-2. Adam Lowry also scored for the Jets. Pierre-Luc Dubois chipped in with three helpers. It was Panthers coach Paul Maurice's first game back in Winnipeg since he resigned as Jets head coach last December 17th. Maurice was 315-223-62 in 600 games over nine seasons in Winnipeg.

Manitoba champions Randy Neufeld has a 4-0 record and Terry Ursel is 1-3 at the 2022 Canadian Senior Curling Championships in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. Neufeld and Ursel will play their final two Pool B round robin games today. 

The Canadian men's curling championship is returning to Regina. Curling Canada announced that the 2024 Brier will take place March 1st-10th. The Brier has been played at the Brandt Centre three previous times - in 2018 (won by Team Canada’s Team Brad Gushue); in 2006 (won by Quebec’s Team Jean-Michel Ménard) and 1992 (won by Manitoba’s Team Vic Peters). Previous Regina-hosted Briers took place in 1976 (the memorable victory by Newfoundland/Labrador’s Jack MacDuff) and 1955 (just as memorable as Garnet Campbell of Avonlea and his three brothers won Saskatchewan’s first Brier title). The 2023 Brier starts March 3rd in London, Ontario.


The Brandon Wheat Kings fell 5-4 in overtime to the Blades in Saskatoon on Tuesday night and will meet the Raiders in Prince Albert tonight. Head coach and general manager Marty Murray will join Clayton Dreger on Sportsbeat which airs Wednesdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.