The Grunthal Red Wings are Hanover-Tache Junior Hockey League champions for the fourth time.

Jayden Plett scored a pair of power play goals as the Red Wings defeated the Steinbach Huskies 4-2 Wednesday night at the T. G. Smith Centre and swept the best-of-seven final in four games straight.

"They pushed us hard," said Plett who notched the winner 5:11 into the third period. "We came out flat and they were on us. We were on our heels the whole first period. It took a whole team effort - a full 60 minutes."

Game four was only 1:45 old when Brady Musey got Grunthal on the board.

Kalem Penner got that one back for the Huskies two minutes later.

The first period ended in a 1-1 tie.

The two teams exchanged goals in the middle frame.

Plett's first of the night, 4:41 into the second period, restored the Red Wings lead but again it was shortlived.

Less than two minutes later - Arnell Evans slid the loose puck, which was laying in the crease for what seemed like an eternity, past Grunthal goaltender John Laninga and into the wide open net.

The Red Wings got the break they needed early in the third period when Plett scored on the power play.

Brody Kornelsen sealed the deal with an empty net goal with just five seconds remaining.



Grunthal forward Eric Froese said the four-game sweep by the Red Wings more than made up for the disappointment of losing last years final to Steinbach.

"Last year we got swept so we were in the same position. It's very sweet to be able to do this finally."

"It's tough," said Huskies captain Jeremy Levesque. "We played all year for this. It hurts, but you know what, they played well and they deserved it. We didn't play the whole four games and that was the difference."

The Red Wings were solid defensively as they allowed just four goals in four games and shutout Steinbach in games one and two of the series.

"We moved the puck good out of our own end," said Grunthal defenseman Cole Penner. "We didn't let them play with it in our end and we buried our opportunities. I think we outworked them a bit."

The Red Wings previously won the HTJHL championship in 2007-08, 2010-11 & 2012-13.


wings huskies bottom mar18HTJHL President Ray Laing, Brody Kornelsen, Jayden Plett, Dalton Reimer & Cole Penner


More Sports News

Four In A Row For The Ste. Anne Aces

For the fourth year in a row, the Ste. Anne Aces are Carillon Senior Hockey League champions after an emotional thriller Sunday night in Grunthal. Similar to last year, it was an overtime winner that…

Niverville Clippers AA Provincial Champions

The Niverville Atom A hockey team capped off a terrific season by winning the Provincial Atom AA title in Portage La Prairie last weekend. The Clippers went into the tournament white hot finishing…

Pistons Fall In Overtime - Series Tied 1-1

The Steinbach Pistons battled hard but fell in overtime to the Swan Valley Stampeders on Saturday night as the best of seven series switches back to Steinbach all tied up at 1-1. Powerful Power-Plays…

Pistons Storm Back Against Stampeders - Lead Series 1-0

A pair of third-period goals propelled the Steinbach Pistons in game one of their second-round series vs the Swan Valley Stampeders. Slowly Gettin' Goin' Steinbach had the travel day and Swan had…

Millers Atom B Provincial Champions

Front Row: Vaughn Penner, Aidan Stepaniuk, Will Mateychuk, Jett Bueckert & Jimmy WilcoxMiddle Row: Jackson Ackland, Robert Banman, Easton Klassen, Dean Friesen, Liam Paton, Maximus Bergen & Ty…

Aces Take Game Five

The Ste. Anne Aces are one win away from capturing a fourth straight Carillon Senior Hockey League title. Guy St. Vincent made 43 saves and Brenden Walker had a pair of assists as the Aces defeated…

Red Wings Capture Provincial U19B Ringette Championship

Grunthal Red Wings - Provincial U19B ChampionsFront row: Sydney Brown, Sylvie Chaput, Gillian Lambert, Kayla Friesen, Hayley Rempel, Kendra Wiens & Cassidy DriedgerBack row: coach Glenn Friesen,…

Playoff Preview: Round 2 - Steinbach Vs Swan Valley

The Steinbach Pistons moved on to round 2 of the MJHL playoffs after a thrilling, hard-fought series vs the Winnipeg Blues. The Pistons now take on Swan Valley who finished 2nd in the leauge. The…

Habs Win Eastman Pee Wee C Title

The La Broquerie Habs are the Eastman Minor Hockey League's Pee Wee C champions. The Habs swept the Niverville/St. Agathe Clippers in two straight in the best-of-three final winning both games by…

Kilroy The Overtime Hero, Pistons Eliminate Blues - Win Series 4-2

Jack Kilroy scored with 9:36 remaining in double overtime as the Steinbach Pistons defeated the Winnipeg Blues 4-3, eliminating the Blues 4-2 in round one of the MJHL playoffs. Battling Blue And…

Eastman Bantam AAA Selects The Best In Manitoba

The Eastman Selects defeated the Winnipeg Monarchs 2-1 in a best of three series to win the AAA Bantam Provincial Championship in Landmark over the weekend. Down But Not Out After falling in game on…

Panthers Win Gold & Bronze at Ringette Provincials

Steinbach Panthers - Provincial U16B ChampionsBack row: Gaby Lambert & Dakota Gigolyk3rd row: Angeleah Goertzen, Brittney Dueck, Mackenzie Poetker, Jorja Wynn, Kris Lazaruk, Robin Freund & coach… is Steinbach's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Monday, March 25th

Red River vs Springfield
@ St. Jean, 8 p.m.
(Mudbugs lead best of 7 final 3-1)

Manitoba AAA Midget Hockey League
Brandon at Wpg Wild, 7 p.m.
(best of 5 final tied 1-1)

Florida at Toronto, 6 p.m.
Buffalo at New Jersey, 6 p.m.
Pittsburgh at N.Y. Rangers, 6 p.m.
Boston at Tampa Bay, 6:30 p.m.
Dallas at Winnipeg, 7 p.m.
Nashville at Minnesota, 7 p.m.
Vegas at St. Louis, 7 p.m.
Los Angeles at Calgary, 8 p.m.
Detroit at San Jose, 9:30 p.m.

Philadelphia at Orlando, 6 p.m.
Oklahoma City at Memphis, 7 p.m.
Phoenix at Utah, 8 p.m.
Brooklyn at Portland, 9 p.m.

Sunday, March 24th

Ste. Anne 6 Grunthal 5 (OT)
(Aces win best of 7 final 4-2)

Portage 5 Virden 2
(Terriers lead best of 7 semifinal 2-0)

Washington 3 Philadelphia 1
N.Y. Islanders 2 Arizona 0
Carolina 2 Montreal 1 (OT)
Chicago 2 Colorado 1 (OT)
Columbus 5 Vancouver 0

Charlotte 115 Toronto 114
L.A. Clippers 124 New York 113
Milwaukee 127 Cleveland 105
Indiana 124 Denver 88
Houston 113 New Orleans 90
San Antonio 115 Boston 96
Golden State 121 Detroit 114
L.A. Lakers 111 Sacramento 106