Steinbach Regional lost 4-3 in overtime to the St. Paul's Crusaders at Hockey for All Centre in game one the Winnipeg High School Hockey League's best-of-three Platinum Promotions Division quarterfinal. Chris Hermann potted the OT winner for the Crusaders. Colton Wiebe, Jager Bueckert and Peyton Froese did the goal scoring for the Sabres. Game to goes today (4 p.m.) at the T.G. Smith Arena.

The Steinbach Huskies are one win away from advancing to round two of the Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League playoffs. Brandon Thiessen and Ian Friesen scored four goals each as Steinbach defeated the St. Clements Gators 20-1 at the East Selkirk Arena. Cole Topham and Logan Funk added three goals each for the defending champion Huskies who lead the best-of-five quarterfinal two games to none. Rylan Penner and Ethan Plett had two goals each for Steinbach. Caleb Hofer had the lone goal for the Gators. Game three goes Friday night at the T.G. Smith Arena. 

The Niverville Nighthawks play their first game under the guidance of new bench boss Dwight Hirst tonight against the Flyers in Winkler. The former head coach of the Manitoba U18 AAA Hockey League's Eastman Selects has replaced Kelvin Cech who was relieved of his duties as head coach and general manager of the hockey team on Monday. Mike McAulay has accepted the role of interim GM. The Nighthawks (26-18-3), who have lost five of their last six games, are six points ahead of the Selkirk Steelers in the race for the fourth and final playoff spot in the Manitoba Junior Hockey League's East Division. 

Brady Gregoire had a five-point night with four goals and an assist as the St. Malo Warriors downed the North Winnipeg Satelites 8-2. Teagan Fillion added a pair of goals for the Warriors while singles went to Jeremie Collette and Sam Freynet. Ashton Dubois chipped in with five helpers. 

The Winkler Royals are one win away from advancing to round two of the SEMHL playoffs. Mitch Dyck scored the go-ahead goal on the power play with 3:19 left and Mark Hildebrand sealed the deal with an empty netter with eight seconds remaining as Winkler downed Red River 7-5. Marcus Neufeld, Cam McNabb, Keith Grondin and Remi Laurencelle also scored for the Royals who lead the best-of-five quarterfinal two games to none. Daniel Taillefer, Tyler Anderson, Gavin Froese, Jonah Wasylak and TJ Matuszewski replied for the Wild. Game three goes Thursday in St. Jean.

Jennifer Jones has announced that she will retire from women's competitive curling at the end of this season. The 49-year-old Winnipeg native won World Championships in 2008 & 2018 as well as Olympic gold in 2014. Jones, who has won the Scotties Tournament of Hearts six times, will be competing in her final Canadian Women's Curling Championship with Karlee Burgess, Emily Zacharias and Lauren Lenentine. The Scotties begins Friday night in Calgary. Jones will continue to compete in mixed doubles with her husband Brent Laing.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers legend Ken Ploen has passed away at the age of 88. Ploen came to Winnipeg in 1957, not long after being named the MVP in the Rose Bowl after guiding the University of Iowa to a victory over Oregon. During his 11 years with the Blue Bombers (1957-67) Ploen was part of four Grey Cup championships in 1958, 1959, 1961 and 1962 as a two-way star at quarterback and defensive back. He retired in 1967 as the Blue Bombers all-time leading passer and sixth in the CFL and was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1975, to the WFC Hall of Fame in 1984, and added to the club’s Ring of Honour in 2016.

curling_20232024 Canadian U18 Curling champions Shaela Hayward, Keira Krahn, India Young & Rylie Cox

The Canadian U18 Curling Championships wrapped up Saturday in Ottawa. 2024 champions Shaela Hayward, Keira Krahn, India Young and Rylie Cox will join Clayton Dreger on Sportsbeat which airs Wednesdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.