Connor Hellebuyck made 27 saves as the Winnipeg Jets blanked the Minnesota Wild 2-0 at Canada Life Centre. Mark Scheifele scored his 11th of the season on the power play at 8:57 of the first period. Nate Schmidt sealed the deal with an empty netter with 71 seconds left in regulation. Kyle Connor drew assists on both Jets goals. Winnipeg was without the services of forwards Pierre-Luc Dubois and Austin Poganski and blueliner Neal Pionk who had been placed in COVID-19 protocol.


Jimmy Oligny scored 68 seconds into overtime to lift the Manitoba Moose past the Texas Stars 3-2. Ty Pelton-Byce and Cole Maier scored in regulation for the Moose. Curtis Mackenzie potted the equalizer with 0.1 second left in the third period for the Stars.


Ridly Greig scored twice and Ethan Kruger made 27 saves as the Brandon Wheat Kings defeated the Red Deer Rebels 3-1 in front of 1993 fans at Westoba Place. Greig potted his 20th goal of the season at 10:55 of the third period and also scored a shorthanded marker with 2:43 left in regulation. It's was the Wheat Kings ninth shorthanded goal of the season. Nate Danielson notched the go-ahead goal at 14:31 of the third.


The Winnipeg Blue Bombers signed veteran receiver Greg Ellingson to a one-year contract. The 33-year-old Tampa native ranks in the CFL’s Top 50 in career receiving yardage, having amassed 7,952 yards on 549 yards and 42 touchdowns over 117 regular season games with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Ottawa RedBlacks and Edmonton Elks. He had 47 receptions for 687 yards and one TD in 10 games last year for Edmonton, ending his streak of five consecutive 1,000-yard seasons. The Bombers lost three players to free agency. Running back Andrew Harris signed with the Toronto Argonauts, receiver Kenny Lawler joined Edmonton and receiver Darvin Adams signed with Ottawa.


The 2022 Viterra Championship begins today at the Selkirk Curling Club. Justin Richter of Beausejour will meet Sean Grassie of Deer Lodge at 4 p.m. Tonight at 8:15 p.m. Colton Lott of Winnipeg Beach will face either Dean North of Carman or Daniel Birchard of Pembina and 2020 Provincial Men's champion Jason Gunnlaugson of the Morris Curling Club will play his opener against either Brett Walter of Assiniboine Memorial or Jeff Stewart of Gladstone.


Two more medals for Canada today at the Winter Games in Beijing. Meryeta O'Dine of Prince George raced to a bronze medal in the women's snowboard cross and Steven Dubois of Laval won silver in men's 1500 metres short track speed skating. Canadian athletes have won eight medals including one gold, two silver and five bronze. Four-player curling begins today. Brad Gushue won his round robin opener 10-5 over Mikkel Krause of Denmark. Jennifer Jones will play her opener Thursday against EunJung Kim of South Korea.